Sparking & Slipping

Sparking & Slipping is a virtuosic showpiece for violin, with an accompagnato group of piano, harp & (mostly tuned) percussion. Its first and last sections are based around an obsessive, dance-like theme, while the central section sees the violin sculpt an extended, lyrical, melodic line. The piano, harp and percussion generally act together as one large resonating chamber for the violin – with the exception of a significant piano solo in the work’s second half.


11 Sep 2014 Sarah Hill (violin), Anne Denholm (harp), Hannah Ely (piano) & Henry Fynn (percussion), Tom Coult (cond.)
World premiere
Trinity Laban Conservatoire, London, UK
31 Oct 2014 Darragh Morgan (violin), students from Royal College of Music, Tom Coult (cond.)
Royal College of Music, London, UK
Back to List of Works
  • Instrumentation
    solo violin, piano, harp & percussion (glsp/vib/crot/tam-t)
  • Duration 11 mins
  • Year 2014
  • Commission Written for Sarah Hill
  • Score & Parts
    For hire of performance materials, please contact
  • View the score online