Tom Coult is a composer born in London in 1988. His work has been championed by many of the UK’s major orchestras and ensembles, resulting in a series of large-scale pieces including Beautiful Caged Thing for soprano Claire Booth and the Mahler Chamber Orchestra, Sonnet Machine for the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra, and Spirit of the Staircase for the London Sinfonietta. In July his St John’s Dance opened the First Night of the BBC Proms, performed by Edward Gardner and the BBC Symphony Orchestra.


12 Jan 2018

Études (USA premiere)

Lost Dog New Music Ensemble

Tenri Cultural Institute, New York NY, USA

24 Jan 2018

Variation on a Hornpipe by Purcell

(part of a set of variations for London Sinfonietta’s 50th birthday)

London Sinfonietta

Royal Festival Hall, London, UK


  • I’m delighted to have been appointed Visiting Fellow Commoner in the Creative Arts at Trinity College Cambridge. The two-year post allows an artist to pursue their creative work and play a part ...

  • Over this coming year, I’ll be the composition mentor for the talented young composers on the Britten Sinfonia Academy‘s ‘Composer Lab’, and will also be writing a piece for th...

  • Psappha are playing Two Games and a Nocturne in a concert together with the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra at Manchester’s BBC MediaCity on 14 November, as part of the New Music North West Festival....

  • Edward Gardner and the BBC Symphony Orchestra premiered my St. John’s Dance at the First Night of the BBC Proms at the Royal Albert Hall London on Friday, alongside Beethoven’s Piano Conce...